top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRen Workman

Q & A: Details of my Adventure

Updated: Oct 3, 2019

Since I've decided to go and travel by myself to Guatemala, folks have had some (okay, many) questions. I love when people want to learn more about my intentions, goals, and expectations! These have been some questions I've received from both family and total strangers.


Q: Where are you going?

A: First, I'm heading to Chivarabal, Guatemala! I'll be volunteering with Project Somos, a nonprofit that supports children and their mamas in education and nutrition. I am just going to be there to help with some day to day things like gardening/ farming, cleaning, and who knows what else! Here's a pretty comprehensive video that shows where I'll be staying and what Project Somos has to offer!


Q: How did you find out about them?

A: I am a part of a cool website called WorkAway! This site connects volunteers with folks who need volunteers all over the world! You can even check out your own community that you currently live in if you're looking for local ways to get involved. I highly recommend it.


Q: Why Guatemala?

A: One of my personal and professional goals in life is to be bilingual. I think it is extremely important that I do this as soon as possible, and thought that traveling would be a fun and informative way to do so. After I leave Guatemala, I'll likely travel to a few other places in Central & South America. If you're traveling too, please let me know!


Q: Will you be saving the world?

A: (This is not a joke question--it has been asked). I am not going abroad to change anything. That is not how this works. I am choosing to volunteer while I travel because I think it's important to get involved in communities that you visit, and especially important that you take the time to get to know the folks you encounter. It's a huge privilege that I get to leave my home and family to go explore a new place. I'm so grateful that I've saved up enough money to make this happen for myself. I assure you I'll be learning more than I have to offer anyone else.


Q: Are you doing this because you couldn't get a job?

A: Thanks for the concern! That is not the case, luckily. After graduating college, I did an AmeriCorps service term and applied to some cool jobs. I got some offers! I just decided that before I jumped into a career, I wanted to take some time to travel while I could.


Q: Why are you choosing to blog?

A: I am so pumped to be traveling. That being said, many of my family and friends have not been able to do so! I want to share what I see with whoever is interested, and hopefully allow myself to remember things more clearly too (us Workmans have a pretty bad memory).


Q: What's your favorite kind of cereal?

A: Glad you asked. Honey bunches of oats.


Thanks for reading! I'll be sure to continuously update this if I hear any other questions.


Have any more questions/ comments? Head to the contact section and shoot me a message!

bottom of page