top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRen Workman

Staying Present

Updated: Oct 3, 2019

When you buy a one way ticket out of the country, it can be extremely easy to just want that day to arrive. Thoughts flood your mind about what could go wrong; about what could go right. Will my flights be on time? What will my home look like? Will I be able to successfully make this work? Did I make a mistake in buying this ticket when I could be saving money?


Breathe.


Things will work out. They always do. You are prepared for this.


The cool thing about leaving places is all of the time is that you get pretty good at saying goodbye (queue Sam Smith's Too Good at Goodbyes). You also (hopefully) stop and spend time being thankful for all that you have in front of you, such as your incredible family. This one is for you, fam.


My family has always been wonderfully supportive of the things that I want to do with my life. People often ask, "what does your mom think of you buying a one-way ticket somewhere?". Well, she thinks I'm crazy. But then she looks up the country I'm going to and familiarizes herself with what I'll be doing. She smiles and says "now is the time to do it".


Hiking at Mt. Ascutney in VT! Left to right: Devyn (brother), Jamey (mother), Grace (doggo), Sod (me), Nora (sister-in-law).

My brother and sister-in-law have been so amazing to host me at their home ever since they've moved to Vermont. Spending time with them driving through the luscious mountains of the East is my favorite way to spend a morning (and then of course, drinking some delicious craft beer in the evenings).

Grandpa & Grandma (Ron & Carol)!

Back in NY, I am lucky enough that my dad (Ron) and stepmom (Rebecca) let me keep all of my earthly possessions in their home and feed me good food before I depart. I spent time with my Great Aunt Gerry and learned that my family is Scottish and German and that I have a Great (x3?) Uncle that was a professional roller skater. Rock on, Uncle.


I also was graced with my grandparent's presence for a meal before I left! Thanks for the love & yummy food, you two. If you ever need a good laugh, just call them; they're hilarious. Happy 51 years of loving each other!

Grandma, Dad, Grandpa, & I!

I'm so grateful for my family and friends. There are so many human beings who made it possible for me to be where I am. Thank you to you all for your constant energy and love. See you all soon! Here are a few photos of my favorite beans:


Who says long distance can't work? Kelly & I have been doing it for years!

Happy humans (Alyssa & Bex) loving Lake Drum.



The one & only, Robin!

Corbin, Shandy, & Zech. A.k.a My best friends from home.


bottom of page